top of page


Alzheimer's disease typically progresses slowly in three general stages — mild (early-stage), moderate (middle-stage), and severe (late-stage). Since Alzheimer's affects people in different ways, each person will experience symptoms - or progress through Alzheimer's stages - differently.


The symptoms of Alzheimer's worsen over time, although the rate at which the disease progresses varies. On average, a person with Alzheimer's lives four to eight years after diagnosis, but can live as long as 20 years, depending on other factors.


Changes in the brain related to Alzheimer's begin years before any signs of the disease. This time period, which can last for years, is referred to as preclinical Alzheimer's disease.

Bush in the shape of a head. Some leaves from the brain area are flying away, alluding to dementia.
number one

Challenges solving problems

number six

Difficulty completing familiar tasks

number two

Memory loss that disrupts daily life

number seven

Misplacing things without recalling

number three

Confusion with time or place

number eight

Decreased or poor judgement

number four

New problems with words or speaking

number nine

Withdrawal from work or social activities

number five

Trouble understanding visual images

number ten

Changes in mood and personality

bottom of page