10 Warning Signs of Alzheimer's


Alzheimer's disease typically progresses slowly in three general stages — mild (early-stage), moderate (middle-stage), and severe (late-stage). Since Alzheimer's affects people in different ways, each person will experience symptoms - or progress through Alzheimer's stages - differently.


The symptoms of Alzheimer's disease worsen over time, although the rate at which the disease progresses varies. On average, a person with Alzheimer's lives four to eight years after diagnosis, but can live as long as 20 years, depending on other factors.


Changes in the brain related to Alzheimer's begin years before any signs of the disease. This time period, which can last for years, is referred to as preclinical Alzheimer's disease.


The stages below provide an overall idea of how abilities change once symptoms appear and should only be used as a general

  1. Memory loss that disrupts daily life

  2. Challenges solving problems

  3. Difficulty completing familiar tasks

  4. Confusion with time or place

  5. Trouble understanding visual images

  6. New problems with words or speaking

  7. Misplacing things without recalling

  8. Decreased or poor judgement

  9. Withdrawal from work or social activities

  10. Changes in mood and personality